Introduction 

Hiya *waves* 

This blog is going to be based around our homeschooling learning journey. I’m hoping to share resources, ideas and materials which we have found successful and fun. 

I’m be no means an expert on homeschool, sensory play or teaching. To be honest half the time I wonder if I’m just winging it. But knowing how scary I found the months leading up to starting homeschooling, I wanted to offer a space for ideas and themes for those looking for inspiration or support along their own homeschooling journeys, or those looking for sensory play ideas.

A little about us;

Our homeschooling journey began 6 months ago after Doodles was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. Things had fallen apart at school and so we took the plunge in hope of finding a less stressful way of learning for her. What a 6 months it has been! It honestly has been unbelievable the change not only for her, but also the rest of the household. Yes it’s been an emotional rollercoaster but it is one I have loved and so grateful we decided to do it! 

When we first began I swore blind that although it was going so well with Doodles, there was no way on earth I would ever be able to homeschool Titch. Doodles and Titch are completely different children in every single way. Where Doodles has a natural craving for learning (she started to teach herself to read at 3) Titch at 4.5 still can’t count passed 3. Fast forward 6 months and  Titch is also now deregistered (he was supposed to start reception this September) and about to embark on the journey with us. 

Now Titch was born at 24 weeks and their still not 100% sure what is ‘going on’ with him. He has been diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder and some learning delays, most profoundly a speech disorder. However his reason for not knowing to count is more to do with his easy distraction and lack of interest in paying attention to anything that isn’t his hobbies or interests; for example he can name pretty much every vehicle there is even ones I have no clue about!

Titch is VERY much a sensory seeker, and so I’m hoping to engage him in learning and enjoying learning through his interests (vehicles) and through sensory play.

Doodles requires a very much more structured approach and likes to be challenged. I’m lucky that their both interested in creative, arty activities as this is something I also hugely enjoy (still not sure where Doodles love of maths has come from!).

Now I’m going to admit a huge Home truth here; I may seem organised, in fact I desperately try to find ways to organise myself and keep ‘on track like a real adult.’ Alas what I plan and what actually happens if often miles apart. I am probably the least organised person on earth, I loose everything, forget things and often double book things. So whilst the ideas and plans I share may seem well put together, I can promise you I am by no means some super mummy! I am far from perfect, in fact those who know me probably spend time shaking their heads and tutting. We’re disorganised, messy and loud and often referred to as quirky and weird (I always thought I was boring!) but we love to laugh and make the most out of life.

I should note here that we also have a genetic connective tissue disorder called ehlers danlos syndromes (which has caused me to have a heart condition called postural tachycardia, and fibromylgia/ME). Things I post may be linked in with these conditions, sometimes I have to adapt what we do and how we do it, especially as outside of the house I often need to use an electric wheelchair.

I would love to hear from you about your experiences or ideas. Eeeek tomorrow is day 1 of teaching both Doodles and Titch! 

Wish me luck

Chatty ❤️

Leave a comment